Mauritania Flag PNG Image

Mauritania Travel Information

According to ejinhua, Mauritania (Arabic: موريتانيا‎, Mūrītānyā) is a country in Africa bordering Western Sahara, Algeria, Mali and Senegal. Mauritania has been independent from France since 1960. The capital and largest city of Mauritania is Nouakchott. A number of major cities in Mauritania are: Nouadhibou, Rosso, Adel Bagrou and Kiffa. Mauritania is known as a […]

Mauritania Politics

Mauritania Politics, Population and Geography

Background: Having achieved independence from France in 1960, in 1976 Mauritania annexed the southern third of the Spanish Sahara (now Western Sahara), but abandoned these lands after three years of attacks by the guerrilla Polisario Front, which sought the territory’s independence. In 1991 opposition parties were legalized and a new constitution adopted. Twice since then, […]

Mauritania Entry Requirements

Mauritania Entry Requirements

Passport and visa regulations Nationalities Passport required visa required Return ticket required Turkey Yes Yes Yes Other EU countries Yes Yes Yes Switzerland Yes Yes Yes Austria Yes Yes Yes Germany Yes Yes Yes Passport information Generally required, must still be valid for 6 months upon entry. Visa information Required for nationals of the countries […]